Navigation Menu

Pre-2004 teachers

The NSW Government seeks to ensure increasing high standards of teaching in NSW, and safeguard the future of the profession.

The NSW Parliament has passed amendments to the Teacher Accreditation Act 2004 that require all NSW school teachers to be accredited by 1 January 2018.

Accrediting pre-2004 teachers

Teachers employed in a NSW school before 1 October 2004 will need to be accredited to continue teaching from 1 January, 2018.

NESA (previously BOSTES), the Department of Education, the Catholic Education Commission and the Association of Independent Schools of NSW, have worked together to develop a simple three-step process for awarding Proficient Teacher Accreditation to pre-2004 teachers.

More information for pre-2004 school teachers

Answering your questions

Complementary Content