Navigation Menu
Show Breadcrumbs

Initial Teacher Education

NESA is part of a national Initial Teacher Education accreditation system which is overseen by the Australian Institute for Teaching and School Leadership (AITSL). All Initial Teacher Education (ITE) programs in NSW undergo a rigorous accreditation process coordinated by the NESA ITE Directorate.

This involves in-depth assessment of design, content, assessment and professional experience components against the national Standards and Procedures and additional NSW requirements. This is in accordance with the Accreditation of Initial Teacher Education Programs in NSW: Policy and Procedures.

Program accreditation requirements

To be accredited, initial teacher education programs delivered in NSW need to satisfy both national accreditation standards and a number of NSW-specific requirements.

View the