Navigation Menu
Show Breadcrumbs

The Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize

The Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize is presented each year to a student or students who have overcome significant hardship to attain academic excellence in their HSC.

The award, first presented in 1993, was established by the Board of Studies, Teaching and Educational Standards NSW (BOSTES) in memory of Brother John Taylor, a distinguished member of the Board, who made a significant contribution to education in NSW.

Brother John was a renowned senior educationalist who made his mark on NSW education as a Christian Brother, teacher, principal and Executive Director of Catholic Education. He was a valued member of education boards, including the Board of Studies NSW from its inception until his death in 1993.

Brother John was known for his commitment, strong principles and integrity, and worked tirelessly for excellence in education. To acknowledge his lifelong dedication to education and his commitment to the ideals of equity, the Memorial Prize recognises outstanding academic achievement by students despite disability or other disadvantage.

The prize comprises a cash grant, a trophy and a certificate recognising the award. The Brother John Taylor Memorial Prize is administered by trustees representing BOSTES and Catholic Education.

Principals nominate students in December each year, and the prize is presented in February of the following year.


Complementary Content