Navigation Menu
Show Breadcrumbs

HSC credentials

See below samples of the Higher School Certificate (Year 12) credentials issued to eligible students upon completing their HSC.

The HSC testamur is delivered by post in January. Students are able to download their credentials via their Students Online account.

1. Higher School Certificate testamur

This shows that a student is eligible for the Higher School Certificate. It includes the student's name, school and date of the award.

2. Higher School Certificate Record of Achievement

The Higher School Certificate (HSC) Record of Achievement (RoA) includes students' Year 12 HSC (Stage 6) results, Year 11 (Preliminary Stage 6) grades and, if applicable, Year 10 (Stage 5) grades. Results for each Stage appear on separate pages.

This provides formal recognition of students' senior secondary school achievements.

  • Assessment mark: School-based assessment tasks measure performance in a wider range of course outcomes than can be tested in an external examination. Students are required to complete a number of assessment tasks for most courses, which may include tests, written or oral assignments, practical activities, fieldwork and projects. Schools submit an HSC assessment mark based on performance in these tasks for every student in every course. NESA puts the marks through a process of moderation to allow a fair comparison of marks in each course across different schools.
  • Examination mark: The examination mark for each course shows the student's performance in NESA's HSC examination for that course. The examination consists of a written paper and, for some courses, may include speaking and listening examinations, practical examinations, or major works that are submitted for external marking. Each student's achievement is assessed and reported against set standards of performance.
  • HSC mark:  The HSC mark is a 50:50 combination of a student's external examination mark and school-based assessment mark for each course.
  • Performance band: A student's HSC mark for each course will fall within one of six performance bands, where the highest achievement is Band 6 (90–100 marks) and where the minimum standard expected is 50 marks. A performance band of E1–E4 is shown for Extension courses. Each performance band is aligned to what a student at that level of performance typically knows, understands and can do.
  • Stage 6 Preliminary grades: Schools using the Common Grade Scale for Preliminary courses award A–E grades for Stage 6 Preliminary courses (other than Life Skills and Vocational Educational and Training (VET) courses).
  • Stage 5 grades: Schools using the Common Grade Scale and course performance descriptors award A–E grades for Stage 5 courses (other than Life Skills and Vocational Education and Training (VET) courses).
The HSC does not report a single, overall score.

3. Life Skills Profile of Student Achievement

Where students satisfactorily complete a Life Skills course, the course is listed on the Record of Achievement with the annotation ‘Refer to Profile of Student Achievement’. The Profile of Student Achievement provides details of the specific Life Skills syllabus outcomes achieved.